Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Public Online Class : Introduction to JeGampopa’s The Jewel Ornament of Liberation

March 5 @ 9:30 am

by

Lama Chokyi Gyaltsen (Lama Mark Webber)

Je Gampopa’s famous Jewel Ornament of Liberation is one of the great masterpieces of the entire Mahayana path; clear, precise and liberating no matter which century we live in. 

The Translator,  Khenpo Konchog Gyaltsen Rinpoche, says: “Khunu Lama Rinpoche said that this was the first Lam Rim  text written in Tibet and that all the later great Lam Rim texts were based on the Jewel Ornament of Liberation.” And H.H. the Dalai Lama writes in the foreword: “I would like to remind the reader that it is not enough simply to know the meaning of the Dharma—we must always make an effort to implement it in our day-to-day life and to sincerely follow the way of practice that Milarepa and Gampopa have shown us.”  

Lama Chokyi Gyaltsen will give a pithy introduction to this fundamental text, thereby laying out the benefits of putting such ancient teaching into practice in our challenging times of the 21st Century. 

This class is the opening class of both a Two Month Series of Online Classes and a Three Month In-person Retreat on Galiano Island, held in the Namgyal Choling Gompa on Galiano Island, B.C.

Saturday, March 5, 2022,
at 9:30 AM PST / 12:30 PM EST / 6:30 PM Central European Time / March 6, 6:30 AM New Zealand NZST

Free access:

Zoom Meeting ID: 811 4098 5905

Passcode: 108